Down Load Forms:
Lead Renovation Firm Application (PDF)
Initial Course $200 (REGISTER)
1-day (8-hr) class explains how to comply with EPA’s Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) Rule.
Subjects covered include: health effects, regulations, lead safe work practices, containment, cleaning & record keeping. After passing the required exam, students receive RRP Certificates.
Regulations: Section 402 of the Toxic Substance Control Act, 40 CFR 745.90(a)(1) & 40 CFR Subpart L.
To become a certified renovator, an individual must successfully complete the appropriate course accredited by EPA or by a State or Tribal program that is authorized by EPA. The course completion certificate serves as proof of certification. EPA renovator certification allows the certified individual to perform renovations in any State or Indian Tribal area that does not have a separate authorized State or Tribal renovation program. In addition to the individual being certified, the company must also apply for registration through EPA. The application process can be started and submitted prior to taking RRP Training.
Who should take the RRP course:
Contractors who work in pre-1978 housing and who might disturb painted surfaces while doing plumbing, electrical, drywall, painting, tile, window replacement, landscaping, repairs, construction, renovation, remodeling, HVAC, demolition, plus many, other jobs. The RRP rule applies to people who work for rental property owners, schools, and day care providers as well as non-profits and government agencies.
Refreshers $150 (REGISTER)
A 4 hour refresher class is required every 5 years.
Section 402 of the Toxic Substance Control Act, 40 CFR 745.90(a)(1) & 40 CFR Subpart L.
A Credit Card payment is required to reserve your space in class.
OTHER STATE REQUIREMENTS
Alabama: Individuals performing RRP work in Alabama must register with the University of Alabama’s Division of Environmental and Industrial Programs Alabama Individual App. The annual fee is $100. In addition, Renovators must work under an Alabama-certified contractor Alabama Contractor App. This annual fee is $300, paid to the Alabama Department of Public Health.Georgia: Individuals performing RRP work in Georgia must register with the Georgia EPD (GA Renovator Application). The fee is $150, and it is valid for 3 years. In addition, Renovators must work under a Georgia-certified firm (GA Firm Application). The fee for firms is $125 for 1 year, or $300 for 3 years.
Iowa: Individuals performing RRP work in Iowa must register with the Iowa Department of Public Health. This fee is $60 every year. Renovators must also work under an Iowa-certified firm. There is no fee for the firm certificate at this time.
Kansas: Individuals performing RRP work in Kansas must register with the Kansas Department of Health and Environment Kansas Individual App. There is no fee at this time. In addition, Renovators must work under a Kansas-certified renovation firm Kansas Firm App. This fee is $200 for the initial firm certificate, with a renewal cost of $100 every five years.
Massachusetts: Individuals and firms performing RRP work in Massachusetts must register with the Massachusetts DLS (MA Renovator Application). The fee is $375, and it is valid for 5 years.
Mississippi: Firms must be certified to perform RRP work in Mississippi. The annual fee is $350 paid to the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality Mississippi Firm App. Individuals performing RRP work in Mississippi must also register with the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality Mississippi Individual App. The annual fee is $75, unless you are the 1st or 2nd Certified Renovator associated with the Certified Firm you are working for. If you are the 1st or 2nd Renovator, you are exempt from this fee.
North Carolina: Individuals must register with the NC Dept. of Health and Human Services (NC Individual Application). Contractors must also register to become a Certified Renovation Firm (NC Firm Application), and there is a yearly $300 fee.
Oklahoma: Firms must be certified to perform RRP work in Oklahoma. The firm fee is $300 paid directly to the Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), and it is valid for five years – the application can be downloaded here: Firm App. Individuals DO NOT need to put in a separate application to the state to become certified.
Oregon: Firms must be certified to perform RRP work in Oregon. The fee is $250 paid to the Oregon Health Authority Oregon Firm App and it is valid for five years. If you are a contractor registered with Oregon CCB (Construction Contractors Board) and you already have a contractor’s license, the fee to become a certified firm is $50 Oregon CCB Firm App.
Rhode Island: Individuals performing RRP work in Rhode Island must register with the Rhode Island Department of Health Rhode Island Individual App. The fee is $40 and is valid for five years. Renovators must work under a Rhode Island-certified Lead Hazard Control Firm Rhode Island Firm App. This fee is also $40 and is valid for five years.
Utah: Individuals performing RRP work in Utah must register with the Utah Department of Environmental Quality Utah Individual App. The annual fee is $200. In addition, Renovators must work under a Utah-certified firm Utah Firm App, with the annual fee being $250. You must also be a citizen of the U.S. to apply as an individual lead renovator in Utah Utah Citizenship App.
Washington: Renovation firms must register with the Washington Dept. of Commerce and pay a $25 fee, which is valid for 5 years (WA Firm Application). Individuals who would like to perform RRP activities in Washington state but were certified by the EPA or other authorized state can do so by registering and paying a $25 fee, which is valid for 5 years (WA Individual Reciprocity Application).
Wisconsin: Renovation firms must register with the Wisconsin Dept. of Health Services and pay a $75 fee, which is valid for 2 years (WI Firm Application). Individuals who would like to perform RRP activities in Wisconsin but were certified by the EPA or other authorized state can do so by registering and paying DHS a $50 fee every two years, (WI Individual Application).